The Fallibroome Trust Board of Directors have agreed to approve requests from two local schools, Eaton Bank Academy, Congleton and Marlborough Primary, Macclesfield, to join the Trust from September 2019. 

Marlborough Primary School is a large and successful primary that converted to Academy status a few years ago and followed DfE advice to convert to a Multi-Academy Trust.  An appraisal of various options resulted in a formal request to join the Fallibroome Trust earlier this year.   

This application was closely followed by an application from Eaton Bank Secondary Academy who were keen to join a Multi-Academy Trust in order to secure the resources needed to support their ambition to convert their ‘good’ inspection judgement to ‘outstanding’. 

A similar process of due diligence and negotiation with the DfE, who supported this proposal, has been undertaken and confirmation from the Regional Schools’ Commissioner is expected in May, for incorporation in September.  

Fallibroome Trust Chairman Dick Hipperson said, ‘Subject to final approval from the RSC, we are delighted to welcome Marlborough Primary and Eaton Bank Academy into the Trust in September.  Both schools will bring capacity and expertise to our school improvement agenda.  The growth of the Multi-Academy Trust to ten schools, three secondary and seven primaries will create a community of schools committed to shared values and a spirit of collaboration that will enable best practice and innovation to be developed for the benefit of all students and staff.’ 

The Fallibroome Trust was established in 2014 with four founder schools: The Fallibroome Academy, The Winsford Academy, Broken Cross and Nether Alderley Primaries.  The Multi-Academy Trust has since expanded to six and then eight schools with the incorporation of Whirley, Adlington, Gawsworth and Upton Priory Primary schools. 

Ofsted has conducted inspections of five schools and commended the support of the Trust as a key driver of school improvement.